Floraphage

Adventures in flora, fauna, food, and the great unknown.

Banana bread, and lassis redux

Leave a comment

I am convinced that, aside for maybe the apple, the banana is the handiest fruit to keep around the house. Apples are great because they can sit around for just about forever without going bad; bananas, on the other hand, ripen fairly quickly, but they’re perfect for smoothies, in cereal, and even just by their lonesome, so I often have a few on hand. That said, we definitely had an overabundance of bananas this week, so to help use them up before they went bad, I made banana bread. This was really about as easy as you could hope for, and I thought this time I’d provide the actual recipe I used:

Ingredients

  • 3–4 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1⁄3 cup (5 1⁄3 tbsp) melted butter
  • 3⁄4 cup to 1 cup sugar (to taste)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1⁄2 cups all-purpose flour

Procedure

  • Preheat oven to 350°F (175°C).
  • With a wooden spoon, mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour and mix.
  • Pour mixture into a buttered 4 × 8 inch loaf pan. Bake for 1 hr, or until golden brown.
  • Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.

All in all, I’m quite pleased with how this turned out. I used a little less sugar than the recipe I was following called for, and three relatively large bananas. It wasn’t perfect (I undercooked it slightly), but it was delicious.

The finished loaf just after it came out of the oven. It was actually a little underdone at the top center, so I'll make sure the entire surface is well browned the next time I make this.

It tastes as good as it looks.

Once more for good measure—you can really tell in this one how moist it is.

♦ ♦

There was also a mango hanging around that was about to go south, so I tried another batch of lassis on Monday. This time, I substituted vanilla yogurt (although I did use a bit of the plain I had left, too, which helped counter the obscene sweetness of this particular vanilla yogurt) and left out the mint, and the result was much better—but still off somehow. Next time, I’ll try plain yogurt and honey as a sweetener; I think that should get me closer to that mango lassi taste I’ve been looking for.

Author: JD Doyle

Bookbinder, knitter, spinner, singer, runner, vegetarian, & sometime poet.

What do you think?

