Floraphage

Adventures in flora, fauna, food, and the great unknown.

Just to say hello

Leave a comment

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I hadn’t forgotten about this blog; I just haven’t had the time to focus on it, considering my other projects (plus that whole “getting married” thing). The last time I posted, it was about my conversion to a (primarily) vegetarian diet. I’m pleased to be able to report that the experiment continues. I’ve eaten fish maybe twice since this whole thing started, and at this point I don’t eat eggs very often, either. I’m drinking almond milk instead of cow’s milk, and I just recently bought my first “buttery spread” (which I realized contains fish oil, alas; I need to find a local supermarket that sells Earth Balance). So, although by some definitions I’m still not a true vegetarian, I’ve ventured slightly into the vegan world, too. Labels aside, I’m doing my part, and I continue to feel great about this choice.

A meal entirely from Veganomicon: chick pea cutlets, marinated portobellos, and risotto with roasted red peppers (those aren’t the exact recipe titles, but you get the idea, yes?).

There was… an incident, though, at a family gathering, wherein out of a meal of sauerbraten, gravy, dumplings, and red cabbage, I assumed that the latter two were safe to eat. Unfortunately, I later discovered that there was bacon in the red cabbage, and I can only say that I was not particularly pleased. Lesson learned. The unfortunate thing is that this particular family gathering has had the same menu for the entirety of my life, and it’s not about to change. So I guess that means I only get to eat dumplings next year. Fun.

In further food-related atrocities, thanks to Hurricane Sandy, my family has had to effectively cancel the traditional Thanksgiving dinner, in favor of a small group of us going out to a restaurant that I’m pretty sure only one person in the group actually enjoys. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday, but the menu offered by the restaurant probably means that I won’t be having anything even remotely traditional unless I suddenly decide I want to eat meat again—which I don’t. In light of this (and because I enjoy cooking), I’ve decided to whip up something delicious and elaborate when M and I return. So, this morning, I went shopping.

The results of today’s shopping trip. Considering that I still need to pick up a few more things and that this photo doesn’t include the stuff we already had, I think it’s safe to say that we won’t go hungry.

I suspect that I’ll post about this after the fact, so I’ll leave the menu a mystery for now. I will say, though, that it’s mostly vegan, and all delicious. (You’ll notice the cheese, of course—that kind of ruins it—but there’s only one other dish that calls for an animal product, butter, and I might just use the buttery spread instead, even though we do have some butter in the house. Time will tell.)

Happy Thanksgiving!

Author: JD Doyle

Bookbinder, knitter, spinner, singer, runner, vegetarian, & sometime poet.

What do you think?

